Amid growing cybercrime, Delhi will have a computer police station in every neighborhood from December

Delhi Police to set up a dedicated cyber police station in each district by December (representation)

New Delhi:

With an increase in cybercrime in the nation’s capital, Delhi Police will set up a dedicated cyber police station in each district to deal with such cases effectively.

The Delhi government’s Home Office has issued a notification to this effect. Cyber ​​police stations will be installed in the 15 police districts.

Police stations are expected to start operating from December 1, officials said.

The notification states that it is deemed necessary to set up cyber police stations in each notified police district to investigate cybercrime cases.

“The Lieutenant Governor of the National Capital Territory of Delhi, in order to facilitate the extension of better police assistance to the public, is pleased to order and declare that the cyber police stations in the east, northeast, south, southeast, southwest, west, outside, center, north, northwest, Shahdara, Rohini, New Delhi, Dwarka and outside North will be the cyber police stations in each of the 15 notified police districts in Delhi from the date of issuance of this notification, ”he said.

Cyber ​​police stations will operate from the location described in Annex A or any other location where the office will be moved in the future from the date of issuance of this notification, he added.

Cyber ​​police stations will have jurisdiction over the entire police district, he said.

According to Annex A, the East District Computer Police Station will be located at the Pandav Nagar Police Station, and in the Northeast District, it will be located at the Jyoti Nagar Police Station.

It will be located at Saket Police Station in the South District, Badarpur Police Station in the Southeast, Vasant Vihar Police Station in the Southwest, Hari Nagar Police Station in the West and Paschim Vihar West Police Station in the District. outside.

Cyber ​​Police Stations of Central, North, Northwest, Shahdara, Rohini, New Delhi, Dwarka and North Outside Districts will be located at Kamla Market, Maurice Nagar, Mukherjee Nagar, Shahdara , Budh Vihar, Mandir Marg, Dwarka North and Samaypur Badli / Bawana Police Stations respectively, according to the notification.

Delhi Police has a separate unit called the Cybercrime Prevention Awareness and Detection Unit (CyPAD) for Cybercrime which operates under its special cell. Each district also has specific cyber cells. The CyPAD was renamed the Intelligence Fusion and Strategic Operations (IFSO) unit.

Officials said cyber police stations would report directly to the district deputy police commissioner. The police stations will work in coordination with the IFSO unit.

According to data provided by Delhi Police at their annual press conference in February, there was an increase in cybercrime cases from March to May 2020, when restrictions were in place due to the COVID outbreak. 19. The number of such cases rose from around 2,000 in March to over 4,000 in May.

(Except for the title, this story was not edited by NDTV staff and is posted from a syndicated feed.)


Leave a reply:

Your email address will not be published.